3 weeks into the game

WP_20150909_19_52_31_Pro

Apparently life in the MBA was way busier than I have imagined. Although I do not have an accurately account, I would estimate my total weekly workload for the past 3 weeks to be as follows:

  • 15 hours of lecture at ~3 hours per day, times 5 work days per week.
  • 20-30 hours of homework / assignments at ~8-10 hours per assignment, times 2-3 assignments per week
  • 5 hours of reading at 1-2 hours per course, times 4 courses
  • 5-10 hours of events / seminars / workshops that happens outside schoolwork.

This will sum up to about 50-55 hours per week. Now I’m really starting to miss my previous work which is only about 32 work hours per week on average… (Well hope my past boss doesn’t really see this )

The clubs I’ve joined haven’t started yet… I think I’ll write something on them once I get a slightly better idea.


WP_20150913_10_37_08_Pro

Of course, 3 weeks into the game also mean that I’ve started getting some ideas about what MBA is. Some parts are the stuff I don’t like, but other things are just amazing. But then again, just like any other job (since MBA is effectively a job), there’s nothing perfect.

One thing I’ve noticed though, is that people here have absolutely MAXED OUT their passion and stamina. So far I’ve seen almost NO ONE who was just dragging through – I can just easily sense that everyone is trying their best do become the best. This alone gives me the chills – skills and experiences aside, I’m really not sure if this level of devotion could be observed anywhere else… Well this is a school after all so this is all normal, right? 😛


WP_20150923_14_55_05_Pro

On my classmates – frankly, some people here sucks at maths and/or logical abilities. Or at least so from my standards. This has become extremely frustrating for people from software backgrounds like me, who likely have a combination of OCD and strict logical paths.

But on the other hand, if you work with these “stupid” people long enough, you will likely observe something that you can completely “Wow” at: Some are empathetic beyond imagination (again, by typical INTP software engineer standards), and they are able to warm up and convince people around something voluntarily; Others may be extremely artistic and creative, bringing up completely wild yet strangely possible ideas forward with ease. At those times, you will realize that being logical, quick and precise doesn’t necessarily make you the best in the crowd (as most of us in the industry has presumed). It’s a painful revelation, but on the other hand, it does make life more interesting.

After all, if you can’t even disrupt your own thinking, how can you disrupt the world?


WP_20150910_14_03_28_Pro

Although I moved to Toronto 15 years ago, this is absolutely the first time I’m living in the very core of this vibrant city, and I’m absolutely loving it. Autumn is the best season in Canada, and I’m trying to enjoy it as much as I can. It especially helps that I am crossing Queen’s Park every morning and I could say Hi to the squirrels who’s recently been busy burying pine cones.


There’s a lot of things I would like to write about and there has been a lot of thoughts and feelings that I would like to share. But unfortunately that will have to wait until I get another opening in my calendar… See you until then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

